God is Our Refuge

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalm 46:10

This week has been difficult. So much has seemed to just drain me. I’ve embarked upon an aspect of our department I always said I’d never do. It is stressful. It is tiring, both mentally and emotionally. By the end of the day I’m worn slap out, then I have to handle the family life. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy to be able to help our department, but I’m tired and a little stressed.

Earlier I used this verse as encouragement and instruction for a friend to help her through a difficult time in her walk. And when I sat down last night to begin this post I struggled so much to figure out what I needed to write about. I started several posts, but nothing really ‘flowed’ from me. So I closed my computer and went to bed. I prayed for God to show me what He wanted me to say, which verse He wanted me to focus on, and as I was praying I asked Him why my mind was running a million miles an hour. I asked Him why I couldn’t just stop and focus on Him for any significant amount of time. You see, my mind was racing, my head was aching, my body restless, and my heart unsettled. I was exhausted by my thoughts were endless. My prayers were less than coherent, at best. Then a word came to me in all the confusion…”Be still”. So I repeated this verse over and over to myself as I drifted off to sleep. I woke up praying this verse. God answered my questions last night. I lost my focus on Him. I have been so wrapped up in hustling to get all that needed to be done, done. I forgot for a brief moment that God was God. I allowed my actions to show I had tried to take control and bear the burden of the task to which I assumed.

Be Still! Remember, God is God. He is in absolute control. What do we have to be stressed about? Why am I trying to carry the full load of this burden? Why have I allowed this task to steal my peace, to corrupt my rest?

In that short amount of time God broke through my distractions, He whispered softly the answer to my restlessness. Too long I went without seeking His peace, His resolution to my deprivation. But He reeled me back in. He spoke a healing word that struck right to my soul. Whatever you are facing, whatever you lack, wherever your focus is fixed, remember…Be still, know He is God, nothing reigns above Him and nothing is allowed unless He gives it permission. Sometimes we just need to stop, sometimes we just need to look back up to Him and confess our misdirection. Then we are free to ask for His help in regaining our focus. I want to leave us with this whole Psalm. It really puts things into a realistic perspective. No matter what mountain you are climbing, or what valley you are navigating through, meditate on this promise…

Psalm 46

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah. There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High. God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved: God shall help her, and that right early. The heathen raged, the kingdoms were moved: he uttered his voice, the earth melted. The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah. Come, behold the works of the Lord, what desolations he hath made in the earth. He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; he burneth the chariot in the fire. Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.”

Leave a comment